Which Team is Likely to Win the ICC Champions Trophy 2017?

The ICC Championship Trophy 2017 is back. The tournament will be hosted in England and is scheduled to run from June 01- June 18. The tournament is to be hosted in three different venues

  • Edgbaston Stadium, Birmingham

Opened in 1882, this stadium has a capacity of 21,000

  • Kennington Oval, London

Kennington Oval opened its gates in 1845 and had a capacity of 23,500

  • Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

Initially, this stadium hosted 5,500 people but was redeveloped to accommodate 15,000 cricket lovers. Teams drawn from eight nations are scheduled to battle it out for the coveted ICC Championship Trophy 2017. India, Australia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, England and New Zealand are set to battle it out for the trophy.

  1. India Team

The 2013 champions, India released their squad on 8th May. No significant changes have been made to the winning team of 2013. The team looks fairly balanced with experienced players making up the majority of the team. The lineup consists of Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit SharmaYuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, and Ravichandran AshwinMohammed Shami.

  1. Australia Team

The former world cup champions Team Australia already eyeing Champions Trophy 2017. The players are so consistent and in well form to face the opponents. Their squad follows Steve Smith (c), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, David Warner, John Hastings, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Josh Hazlewood, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa, James Pattinson,

  1. South Africa Squad

AB de Villiers (c), Quinton de Kock (wkt), Farhaan Behardien, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Faf du PlessisMorne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Chris Morris, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Andile Phehlukwayo.

  1. Sri Lanka Team

Angelo Mathews (c), Niroshan Dickwella, Upul Tharanga, Kusal Perera, Chamara Kapugedera, Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Dinesh Chandimal, Nuwan Pradeep, Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Kulasekara, Seekkuge Prasanna

  1. Bangladesh Team

After replacing West Indies, this is the best opportunity for Bangladesh team to show their maximum. After Champions trophy 2006 there are no big changes in the team. Squad follows Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (c), Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi HasanSabbir Rahman, Sunzamul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Tamim Iqbal, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam

  1. England Team

Eoin Morgan (c), Mark WoodMoeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Liam Plunkett, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Alex Hales, Chris Woakes

  1. New Zealand Team

Kane Williamson (c), Corey Anderson, Tom Latham, Ross Taylor, Neil Broom, Jimmy Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Mitch Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Adam MilneJeetan Patel, Trent BoultMitchell McClenaghan, Martin Guptill

  1. Pakistan Team

Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Azhar Ali, Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali, Junaid Khan, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Wahab RiazUmar Akmal, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Shadab KhanFahim Ashraf.

according to predictions from experts, the hosts are favorites to win the ICC Championship Trophy 2017. Coming 2nd last year, though England didn’t have it easy in the 2015 world cup, they have a settled squad and the team is playing fearlessly and are aggressive. Under Captain Morgan, the unit comprises of young players. The fire power of Jason leading the team, batsman Root with an incredible hitting ability, superb bowling from Ben Stokes and Chris Woakes, and the main spinner Adil Rashid, the hosts are likely to run away with the trophy considering the home ground advantage too. India team major concern is the opening slot, Rohit is coming from an injury. Australia, the world cup winners in 2015 have a strong squad but haven’t been convincing in England.

If you are staying in Asian countries, you can get to watch ENG vs NZ highlights via YuppTV

Leave a Reply